Roasted aubergine, tomato and mozzarella pasta bake

Right! Ok then.  So, I’ve got aubergine, tomato, mozzarella and pasta.  What is my angle with this? What……..is……..my…….angle……?  Hmmmmm.  Well, I’m using tomatoes.  Can I say anything about that?  Ermmmm I don’t think so.  What about baking trays.  I’m using a baking tray!  Shall I mention all my baking trays are broken?  That all of them have lost their non-stick?  That I actually took a wire brush to one of them in a blinkered moment of washing up fury?  No, nope.  It’s not interesting (at all) and it’s a tenuous link at best……..errrrrm aubergine? No.  It’s an easy dish put together using familiar everyday ingredients.  I’ve got it!  It’s ordinary! THAT’S my angle!  Woohoo!

Aubergine tom and moz pasta tray (2)

So, an ordinary mid-week meal.  Why does everything have to be super fancy anyway? At the end of the day I want something I can throw together easily which requires no fancy preparation, no odd ingredients and an ingredients list that isn’t as long as my arm.  If these are things you look for in a man, I mean meal, then this is the dish for you!  It’s fresh, very tasty and quick to make.

Roast your veg, cook your pasta, stir everything through and eat.  The recipe wants oregano which is great because I have copious amounts in the garden.  Basil would work well too.  I did make a couple of slight changes to the recipe.  I just used normal mozzarella and parmesan rather than vege versions because I’m not vege.  And after I’d mixed everything together I sprinkled the parmesan on top and put it back in the oven for a few minutes because I wanted the mozzarella warm and melty.  Some of the pasta went crispy on top too which is just how I like it.  I’ve not included the recipe on this post as you can find the original here.

It smelled so tomatoey and fragrant when it came out of the oven that I started eating it before I’d got it all on my plate.  Don’t be deceived by it’s ordinariness.  What it lacks in intrigue it makes up for in flavour.

Leave a Reply

