A rather regal potato salad

We’ve got lots of veg coming up in the garden at the moment but not much ready to eat. We do have an abundance of spuds (I’m reliably informed these are ‘earlies’) and herbs particularly basil. And so I make Royal Potato Salad. The first time I made this was on the day Kate and Wills got married. This is absolutely no word of a lie. I can’t remember if this was a coincidence or if I engineered it so. In any case I remember the day vividly. It was a blazing hot day. We were decorating the living room so all the furniture was clustered together in the centre of the room. I say ‘we’ were decorating. What actually happened was I made some halfhearted attempt at painting (decorating is SO boring) and the husband did all the work. After I’d painted a couple of square feet of wall I installed myself on the sofa, which was positioned at a wonky angle about a foot from the TV, and spent a good part of the day mesmerised by how lovely Kate looked and swooning over the dress.

Anyway, back to the spud salad. Despite the recipe making it all seem a bit effortless I can’t help but wish for at least one extra pair of arms while I’m making it. During the course of building the salad the recipe requires you to boil peas, eggs, and spuds and also make a pesto (that’s 3 pans plus the food processor to wash up too). All straight forward stuff but get ready to do some juggling. I save myself some hassle and make the pesto the day before which leaves boiling everything and assembly. I’m feeling a bit confident so I do us lamb chops on the side. I’ll leave you to seek out the original recipe. In the meantime, here is my (much) abridged version.

Royal Potato Salad
(Recipe adapted from Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi)
Serves 2 with lamb chops on the side and enough pesto leftover for another meal

2 run of the mill chicken eggs
80g run of the mill garden peas
400g small spuds
20g basil leaves
20g parsley leaves
60g pine nuts
60g Parmesan, grated
2 garlic cloves, chopped
up to 200ml olive oil (I never use the full 200ml. Just usually about 120ml)
½ tsp white wine vinegar
Handful mint leaves shredded
Salt and pepper

  1. Boil eggs, peas, and spuds.
  2. Make pesto.
  3. Add spuds, peas, pesto, vinegar and mint to a bowl. Mix well. Season.
  4. Serve with eggs, quartered.
Leave a Reply

