Orange and Green Tea Loaf Cake

Oh my goodness! Look at this – my first blog post! How exciting! I fancied making something cakey yesterday but couldn’t decide what to do. The recipe for Orange and Green Tea Loaf Cake had been out for a while and so decided to make that. I did briefly consider making some sort of statement cake to accompany my first post. A spectacular gravity defying sculptural masterpiece lavishly decorated with whimsical buttercream but decided against it as I wanted a reasonably good chance of success. And so I plummed for something simple, easy and some might say a bit boring. There was some disappointment that I didn’t go with the suggestion to make a Bakewell tart because my previous attempt ‘needed some improvements’. I dutifully ignored the suggestion as per the norm and went with the loaf cake. Bakewell tart evolved into Cherry Bakewell covered in icing as the day went on which will require me to do a bit of research so I’ll save that for another time.

The orange and tea loaf cake was all pretty straight forward to be honest. I boiled an orange for an hour, whizzed it up in the food processor, mixed it with the other ingredients and bunged it in the oven. Easy. I did make a couple of tweaks. I used large eggs because that’s what I had and I emptied the contents of a tea bag in the bowl rather than measuring the tea leaves out. It all seemed to work out fine all the same. The recipe suggested to serve with clotted cream which I didn’t have. So we ate it plain. Cue further disappointment. I guess crème fraiche could be substituted.

Orange and Green Tea Loaf Cake
(Recipe adapted from You magazine 30th August 2009)
Makes 1 loaf to serve 4-6

1 orange washed thoroughly
Butter for greasing
Plain flour for dusting
3 large eggs
125g ground almonds
125g caster sugar
1 teabag jasmine green tea leaves
Zest of 1 orange
1 tbsp baking powder

  1. Cook the orange in a pan of gently bubbling water for 1 hour. Top up with water as necessary.
  2. Once cooked, leave to cool, slice into wedges and remove pips. Blend in a food processor.
  3. Butter and flour a loaf tin with a 1.2 litre capacity (approximately). I also lined the base with baking paper.
  4. Preheat the oven to 180°C/160°C fan/gas 4.
  5. Beat the eggs in a bowl, stir in the pulped orange and add the remaining ingredients.
  6. Pour into the tin and bake!  Cook for 45 – 55 mins until the cake is well browned and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. I checked at 45 and 55 mins and ended up baking for 1 hr 10 mins in the end.
  7. Cool in the tin for 15 mins then cut into slices and serve with clotted cream (if you have any).

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Orange and Green Tea Loaf Cake

Leave a Reply

